The Counter Cafe’ – East

Posted on

As an East Austinite,  I have spent hours complaining about the gentrification of my beloved East Austin, However, much to my chagrin, I have come to like some of the changes, mainly in the restaurants now exploding all over the East. It amuses me that these new, hipster restaurants were once local businesses. Take for example, The Counter Cafe’ East. Who knew that half of the East Austin Post Office would become half of a trendy restaurant?. I had been searching for a restaurant that served a great brunch and came across The Counter Cafe’. I saw the location and thought, ‘that’s our old post office!” (had a moment of shaking my head trying to picture the PO as a restaurant). OK, let’s go…I LOVED The Counter Cafe’. O-M-G. The menu offers a nice array of breakfast plates, brunch and lunch menu. They close at 4pm, so no dinner. I had the pork chop with soft scrambled eggs, potatoes and a homemade biscuit. A friend had the blueberry pancake and though I didn’t taste it, it looked good, chocked full of blueberries. Others had the eggs benedict on a crab cake, and another had the Counter Benedict. Ooohhh and there was a guy literally squeezing oranges for their ‘fresh-squeezed’ orange juice. The restaurant is more long and narrow than square and it is small but they designed it with good use of space. There was ample parking and yes, more than 1 handicap parking space and I got to park in the one right in front! We had like a 20 min wait but it seemed to go fast. We were seated at a booth with chairs on the opposite side. it was cozy but not cramped. There was enough room for people to get by behind my chair without tripping over my wheelie tires. It was so nice to eat without constantly being bumped. Again, there seemed to be a nice patio with a ‘counter’ along the side but I didn’t go out to see it. Although I thought about not blogging in order to keep this place ‘a secret’, I just couldn’t do it. Want a truly good breakfast? Want to impress friends from out-of-town? go to http://countercafe.com/

PORK CHOP BREAKFAST PLATE
PORK CHOP BREAKFAST PLATE
EGGS BENEDICT OVER CRAB CAKES
EGGS BENEDICT OVER CRAB CAKES
HOMEMADE BISCUITS AND CHEESY GRITS
HOMEMADE BISCUITS AND CHEESY GRITS
THE INTERIOR
THE INTERIOR

0809

THE BLUEBERRY PANCAKE
THE BLUEBERRY PANCAKE

Leave a comment