Odd Duck

Posted on Updated on

One of the best new restaurants in Austin has to be Odd Duck. I went there one afternoon, after the ‘lunch crowd’. Unfortunately, we didn’t know they were no longer serving lunch and it was too early for dinner. However, we could order from the appetizer menu. I must say when I looked at the menu and their descriptions, I was flummoxed. But a Foodie is never afraid to try anything new! I must say, the preparation, presentation, freshness and flavors were sublime. I was very Impressed with the combination of flavors that somehow complimented each other. WOW. and those were just the appetizers!

The place itself was impressive too. They used recycled material as part of their décor, the décor itself modern and understated, nothing big or clumsy. I loved the big windows that let in a lot of natural light. There was a patio out to the north side that looked nice but I didn’t check it out because I’m an indoor, air-conditioning kind-a of Foodie.  I’m not keen on shooing away flies, swatting gnats and perspiring while I eat. The parking lot is rather small, like most restaurants on SoCo and S. Lamar, but they did have a nice van accessible parking space in front by the door. Much to my surprise, it was available! The entrance is unobstructed and if you can’t open the door manually, you probably won’t have to wait long because given the full windows, the host will see you. The restaurant itself is spacious, in other words, a person in a wheelchair can probably maneuver easily, however, I don’t think this will be the case if the restaurant is full. And that goes for handicap parking space, chances are it won’t be available.  But don’t let that stop you. Go and give it a try. Close your eyes and just point to something on the menu, chances are you will be in for a pleasant surprise.  http://oddduckaustin.com/

The entrance
The entrance
the Everything Sourdough bread with cultured butter
the Everything Sourdough bread with cultured butter
ham and cheese pretzels in a mustard béchamel sauce
ham and cheese pretzels in a mustard béchamel sauce
cauliflower soup with cheese fritters
cauliflower soup with cheese fritters
the eclair
the eclair
this say's it all
this say’s it all

Leave a comment